Montana is situated in the Northwestern United States. It is surrounded by British Columbia, Alberta, and Saskatchewan to the north; North and South Dakota to the east; Wyoming to the south; and Idaho to the west. The state capital of Montana is Helena with a population of approximately 28,000. Montana’s largest city is Billings with a population of 171,677. The total population of Montana is 1.05 million people.


Montana is 380,832 square kilometers in size and is known for the Rocky Mountains and the Continental Divide in the west and the badlands and prairie regions to the east. The climate varies significantly throughout this state. The eastern region has a semi-arid, continental climate and the western region has a modified northern Pacific Coast climate.



Glacier National Park was established in 1910 in northwestern Montana and it is a designated Unesco World Heritage site. It is 4,000 square kilometers in size and contains three of the mountain ranges that are part of the Rocky Mountains. The highest peak is Mount Cleveland at 3,194 metres. Glacier National Park is also known for its pristine lakes, glaciers, waterfall, dense forests, alpine meadows and prairie grasslands.


Yellowstone is a vast national park that spans 8,983 square kilometers and is located in parts of Montana, Idaho and Wyoming. It was designated as a national park in 1872 and is also classified as a Unesco World Heritage site. Yellowstone is known for its lakes, canyons, rivers, forests, mountain ranges, and geothermal features like the Old Faithful geyser.  This National Park is also home to the Yellowstone Caldera, the largest super volcano in the American continent.

Showing the single result